ALT.NET REST Presentation

I just finished my REST presentation at the NYC ALT.NET Meetup. Thanks to all that attended.  Unfortunately I didn’t get through all my samples, but I’m happy to have quality discussion. 

Downloads

I’ve uploaded the sample code and the presentation to my website.  You can use the following links to download them:

Links

As I noted in the resources section of my presentation the following links may be of interest.

RESTful .NET

Above all I’d like to give a lot of credit to Jon Flanders. If it were not for his book this presentation would not have been possible. To anyone who is interested in learning about REST in .NET his book is a must read.

6 Responses to “ALT.NET REST Presentation”


  1. 1 James Swetnam November 19, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Thanks for the great talk, Ben. Unfortunately I had to run out early but enjoyed the hour or so I was able to catch.

  2. 2 Chris Arndt November 19, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Ben,
    Great presentation. You provided valuable info on some of the differences between using MVC and WCF.

    One question: I think I’d read that REST APIs often restrict themselves to GET & POST becaause many of the others are routinely blocked by firewalls. Do you know if that is a problem?

    — Chris

  3. 3 Yonah Wahrhaftig November 19, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Hey Ben,

    Just wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed your presentation.

    Well done!

    Thanks

  4. 4 bendewey November 19, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Chris,

    I too have seen many REST interfaces limit themselves to only POST & GET, firewalls are an interesting case. I assumed it was more closely related to the lack of browser support for these methods. If you take a look at the LitWare Training Sample (https://bendewey.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/litware-training/) you’ll see that I utilize an REST Starter Kit’s Request Interceptor to create a XHttpMethodOverrideInterceptor. This allows you to stay true to the RESTful HTTP methods and provides a work-around for the lack of browser (or firewall) support for the other methods.

    -Ben Dewey

  5. 5 Courtney Rozgonyi November 19, 2010 at 2:42 am

    Greetings I recently finished reading through your blog as well as I’m very impressed. I truly do have a couple questions for you personally however. Do you consider you’re thinking about doing a follow-up submitting about this? Will you be likely to keep bringing up-to-date as well?

  6. 6 bendewey November 19, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Courtney,

    Thank you for your positive feedback. I always do my best to keep my blog current and I will continue to do so.


Leave a Reply

What else am I doing?

StackOverflow Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Live

Twitter

Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

