Introduction to jQuery Presentation

I just finished my Introduction to jQuery presentation at the NYC Web Design Meetup.  Thanks for all that attended.  We had a really good time and had lots of great questions.

Download

I’ve posted the presentation and demos online.

Intro to jQuery.zip

Note

I made some minor changes to the Google AJAX sample.  The sample shown at the meeting didn’t support repeated clicks of the Get Google Links button.

6 Responses to “Introduction to jQuery Presentation”


  1. 1 hassan February 10, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Hi Ben it was nice listening to u talk about jquery , everything is very new to me so my question is, is jquery replacing javascript or flash….
    with jquery what is the future of web development? what is being cut now… is jquery the newest wed design software over rest, or if u can help me understand where we going,,, don’t wanna fall behind cus am just getting started… thank u ,Hassan

  2. 2 bendewey February 10, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Hassan,

    Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it. First off I don’t think jquery is replacing flash. Flash’s biggest competitor is Silverlight and they are in a battle that is different than what jquery is doing. That’s not to say that people aren’t using jQuery for the basic animation.

    As I said at the meeting and I think people agreed. We’d prefer to use jQuery instead of Flash where possible, because, it’s lighter, works on iphone, and it doesn’t require a plugin.

    Now, on to jQuery. jQuery is definitely not going to replace javascript, because its built on javascript. jQuery is what we call a framework, and is really designed to abstract the lower level difficulties away from javascript and make your life easier. It’s nice to have a basic understanding of how javascript works as a language, but you can easily get by with just a knowledge of how jquery plugins and syntax work. As for things getting cut, jQuery has many competitors so I can’t say that they’re going to be the leader, I personally favor them.

    Your final question about where to learn and stay up with the market. I would recommend taking a peak at jQuery as I assume you’ll find it easier to work with the plain old javascript. In addition to the links in the presentation Rick Strahl has a really nice intro article (http://www.west-wind.com/presentations/jQuery/default.aspx). I do feel that jquery has created an attitude in the web development industry of “raising the bar” and using standardized quality coding and practices, and I commend them for that, so as a new web developer be prepared to keep up with the standards and always keep learning.

  3. 3 Alan March 2, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Ben,

    Thanks for the great overview, and your “screen-scraping” demo was great, gave me a lot of new ideas. I hope you will be able to come back and give an update on new jQuery technologies, or on some interesting plugins.

  4. 4 Scott April 21, 2009 at 11:46 am

    The link to the files appears to be broken. Is there an updated link to them?

  5. 5 bendewey April 28, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    I’ve updated the post with the new download link.


  1. 1 Use these SendAsync Convenience Extension for the WCF REST HttpClient to GetAsync, PostAsync, etc. « Ben Dewey – Leveraging .NET for Appealing UIs Trackback on May 20, 2009 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

What else am I doing?

StackOverflow Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Live

Twitter

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

